- September 25, 2016 -

Trump Campaign Announces Asian Pacific American Advisory Committee

NEW YORK, NY – Donald J. Trump is pleased to announce his Asian Pacific American Advisory Committee. The women and men on the committee are elected, appointed and grassroots leaders who will engage Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPI) on relevant issues to these important and vibrant communities. Governors Eddie Calvo and Ralph Torres of Guam and Northern Mariana Islands (NMI) respectively, will serve as the Council’s Co-Chairs.

The committee members will support and strengthen ties to each community and provide recommendations on how best to ensure AAPI voices are heard and included in the Campaign. Furthermore, the committee’s formation represents Mr. Trump’s and Governor Pence’s commitment to AAPI communities. Mr. Trump and Governor Pence will meet with members of the committee and AAPI leaders to discuss growing concerns over educational opportunities, employment and the economy, which are of paramount concern to AAPI families across this nation. Mr. Trump understands the critical role Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders play in the growing and providing for an energetic economic base which has been lacking over the past eight years of Obama/Clinton policies.

“Mr. Trump’s Asian American and Pacific Islander Advisory Committee is a great addition to the vibrancy of his campaign,” said Brunswick, Ohio Mayor Ron Falconi. “His ability to connect with everyday Americans is a testament of his character, and what he wants to do to bring America forward from the past 8 years.”

Dr. Lisa Shin said, “The Trump/Pence ticket will bring meaningful change to Washington. No longer will DC bureaucrats decide what’s best for Asian American and Pacific Islander families. Supporting Mr. Trump and Governor Pence will allow AAPIs to truly have a voice in how we want to educate our families and raise our children.”

Additional members of the Committee will be added in the future.

Advisory Committee Members include:

Mr. James Aldan Ada, NMI

Mr. Puneet Ahluwalia, Virginia

Honorable Steve Austria, Ohio

Governor Eddie Calvo, Guam (Co-Chair)

Honorable Anh Joseph Cao, Louisiana

Honorable Elaine L. Chao, Washington, DC

Mr. David Cohen, California

Mr. Ron Falconi, Ohio

Dr. Paul Jhin, California

Mr. Hossein Khorram, Washington

Dr. Paul Hsu, Florida

Mr. KV Kumar, California

Mr. Shalabh Kumar, Illinois

Mr. Cliff Zhonggang Li, Florida

Mr. Paul Lim, Maryland

Pastor Herman Martir, Texas

Ms. Monica Lee Morrill, Pennsylvania

Mr. Andy Nguyen, Texas

Ms. Keiko Orrall, Massachusetts

Honorable Sean Reyes, Utah

Dr. Lisa Shin, New Mexico

Ambassador Sichan Siv, Texas

Honorable Michelle Park Steel, California

Honorable Ralph Torres, NMI (Co-Chair)

Dr. Marina Tse, California

Mr. Derek Uehara, Nevada

Dr. Helen Van Etten, Kansas

Honorable Ron Villanueva, Virginia

Mr. Harry Walia, Florida

Mr. David Tian Wang, California

Honorable Martha Wong, Texas